Happy Day of Love & Friendship!

Today is Valentine’s Day, which most people associate with romantic love even though it’s technically a feast for one (or more) martyred saints. However, where I am from, Valentine’s Day is a day to celebrate love and friendship–a day to celebrate the awesome people in your life. That is why my Galentine’s Day hockey excursion with Maria was so fitting: I got to celebrate my love for hockey and my friendship with her!

That said, I do somewhat long for the days of couple-y Valentine’s Day, where it was el día de los enamorados and I got flowers and declarations of love. As much as I am a Valentine’s Day hater because I don’t think I need a commercialized holiday to tell my SO I love him, now that I’ve been single for a few years and I’ve gotten so busy that I schedule my friend dates weeks in advance? I can definitely see the appeal of having a day conveniently set aside for you.

So, in honor of today, I’m going to go work on my online dating profiles (I know, I know) and try to make some plans with “the potential guy” (as we’ve taken to calling him). In the meantime, here are 6 reasons why you should date the outgoing introvert (i.e. me)–and 10 things you should know before you do so.

Happy Valentine’s Day, y’all!

Leave a Reply

