Because your memory is already a blessing…

…I sit here with my heart in my hand and tears in my eyes… but I can’t cry. The tears will come, but they will not fall… and still I ache every time I hear your name.

We were not close, I know, so I know that there are others who feel your passing much more acutely than I do. But I still remember your smile, and the kindness you showed the uncomfortable, insecure girl I was in front of you. I remember the pride in your face as your children ran around us after hours at the ballroom. I remember the looks you and your wife stole when you thought no one was looking. I remember your laugh as you joked with the other guys while you worked… I am hard-pressed to remember a time where your face was not lit up with a smile.

And every time I remember that you’re gone, I ache.

I do not know how you left this world, only that you have, and it breaks my heart to know that your four children lost their father so close to Christmas. But I know that you will be watching over them, and over the team, and over all of us who had the great privilege of knowing you in any way.

Rest in peace, sir.

One thought on “Because your memory is already a blessing…

  1. Pingback: Goodbye: A Closing Thought | Eliava Says

Leave a Reply

