The Night Before #NaNoWriMo~

I’ve been radio silent this week because life has been insane–between a mountain of grading, getting back in the saddle for this new grad school class, freaking out about my evaluation, and dealing with a new crush (I know, I know), I just haven’t had much time to sleep, let alone blog.

And, of course, there has been that whole prepping-for-NaNoWriMo thing.

NaNoWriMo, for those of you who are still uninitiated, is my favorite name for November, and it stands for National Novel Writing Month. During 30 glorious (and often excruciating) days, writers all over the world attempt to write at least 50,000 words on a project of their choosing. As insane as it sounds, it’s something that I have been wanting to do for a very long time–and something that I have continuously sabotaged for myself.

Here are some of my excuses for the past, oh, ten years of NaNoWriMo failure:

  • I don’t have time for this because of work/school/life/the universe. (Uh, who does, really?)
  • My idea isn’t going anywhere.
  • I got too far behind to catch up.
  • I forgot to keep up with it.
  • What I had wasn’t good enough to keep going.
  • I can’t do this.
  • I got distracted.
  • I wrote X amount of words, just not on the project!

The truth is that, every time I have decided to begin working on a NaNoWriMo project, I have punked out using one of those excuses–so I haven’t even really given it an honest try (except for kind of doing so in 2012, but shhhh). But that all changes this year!

This year, I have a novel that I am thrilled to begin writing. I wrote the hook for it a few months ago, started doing some world-building and research, and then let it marinate–and now that I’ve started outlining it, the book won’t shut up. Several of you have already heard about this book because I can’t shut up about it either–I keep flailing on Twitter and telling everyone who will listen… including my stylist when she was doing my hair on Wednesday. (She loves the idea and signed up to beta read.) This book is so ready to exist that I’ve literally had to force myself to not write it before NaNoWriMo started so that I could give it all my energy this month.

I have also been working really hard to prepare so I can meet the previous years’ setbacks head on without faltering. I spent a lot of time going over Nick Thacker‘s Guide to Writing Fiction to make sure I had my structure right and I could outline, and then I buckled down and outlined most of my novel. I just signed up for Timothy Pike’s 12-Month Author Challenge to make sure my commitment doesn’t end on December 1, and I’ve already started going through some of the materials. I have researched places and people, written down the rules for my magical world, and reread lots of book for inspiration. I’m ready to go–are you?

Ready to come along on this adventure? You can follow me, my book, and my word count over at NaNoWrimo–and/or you can stay tuned here for (at least) weekly updates. Encouragement, kudos, and coffee are greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

