Shana tova u’metuka!

(Or however you prefer to transliterate it. I err on the side of removing the superfluous final h’s.)

This traditional Hebrew greeting for Rosh Hashana, which translates to wishing someone “a good and sweet year,” is especially resonant with me because I am hoping that this new Jewish year will bring some measure of sweetness to this very rough 2014.

But as is often the case, this hope is shrouded in the fear that I will be let down. What if the rest of 2014 is just more of the same? What if this new Jewish year is as awful as the rest of 2014 has been, and it gets me started off on the wrong path?

The words of my rabbi, gently delivered during her Erev Rosh Hashana d’var, come back to me then. “Broken does not mean beyond repair.” And that the train is derailed does not mean that it cannot get back on track.

I may have broken this year, but I still have time to put the pieces back together–and much to be grateful for as I keep walking.

Leave a Reply

