Things your friend who has depression really needs you to say!

I have to say, I have become the “friend who has depression,” often counted on to provide the depression perspective on a myriad of issues. It is a terrifying responsibility, but I think it says a lot about how seriously my friends are taking my mental illness, and how outspoken I have been about it. And it is as the “friend who has depression” that I link you to Kate A. Hendry’s “7 Things Your Depressed Friend* Needs You to Say.”

*Her title for the piece, which I am respecting even though, as you know, I choose to use “people-first language.”  🙂

2 thoughts on “Things your friend who has depression really needs you to say!

  1. Thanks for linking to my post!

    Usually I am very careful about using “people first language” as you put it, and hadn’t actually noticed I didn’t in this headline until you pointed it out. So thanks, I will try to be even more mindful in the future.

    I’m happy to hear you have supportive friends. I sometimes find it exhausting to explain mental illnesses when I barely have the energy to get better, so I’m always happy (selfishly?) when I find someone else is taking on that job too. We can never fully explain someone else’s experience, but we can talk enough so the conversations are easier to have.

    • Thanks for coming over to leave a comment! I wasn’t trying to call you out or anything–but since I’ve making a huge deal about it to my friends (it’s been a big point of discussion in my master’s program), I figured a disclaimer was in order before the blew up my Twitter feed. 😉

      I hear you on the exhaustion piece, absolutely. A lot of the time I find myself struggling to verbalize what is happening and turning to my friends who know depression as well, since it is a bit easier when you get to skip all the analogies because the person you’re speaking gets it. I will say, though, I find the Spoon Theory to be a great way of trying to explain the inherent exhaustion of depression to someone who has not dealt with it firsthand.

      It’s lovely to get to “meet” you, and I pray for energy and strength so you can continue getting better–I know all too well how necessary that is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

