Boo on this week, yo.

Okay, I’m gonna be straight up here: my self-imposed break has lasted way longer than it should have, so I haven’t worked out in over a week. In my defense, I’ve been super sick–to the point that I had to cancel my therapy session on Wednesday because I had a fever of 102° F and my voice was a scratchy mess.

I’ve also been pretty good about not stuffing my face with everything fatty ever even though I really wanted to. I ordered myself Thai on Wedneday because I really needed chicken rice soup in my life, but other than that I haven’t eaten out and I’ve cooked proper meals for myself. Between the reduction in calories and the avoidance of super fatty foods, I’ve lost 0.6 pounds over the past week–which isn’t a whole pound lost but it’s not a gain either! Baby steps.

Overall, I’m not happy with my lack of progress, but I am happy with my attitude towards it. Since I said that some WoW time was my reward for working out, I haven’t played at all this week due to lack of exercise. I’m hoping that going to temple tomorrow and then fasting for Tisha B’Av will help me get renewed focus so I can jump right on track… and not having to go to work next week means that I’ll have to work out my own schedule but lunch will no longer be a logistics issue.

Meh. I was super excited about not having bitten off my fingernails over the past two weeks, but then I forgot to file them last night and when I got a snag in one today I bit it off. Then I bit off two more, and then all of them to even them out.

I still have time to grow them back out properly before I go home, though…

TWO MORE WEEKS AND I WILL BE HOME WITH MY FAMILY AND I’LL GO TO THE BEACH AND IT WILL BE GLORIOUS.

4 thoughts on “Boo on this week, yo.

    • Same here, and I hate it! I’m all, “Oh, it’s just a snag, I should bite it off before I lose the whole nail” and then the next thing I know I have NO nails left.

      Bad habits!

  1. Don’t get hung up on the numbers! You’re still in the early stages – as you get more active, your metabolism is going to speed up to support that. Also, you’re doing the hardest part right now. The more you stick with it, the better you’ll feel; once you feel better, it will be easier to stick with it. Just don’t make yourself miserable because you think you ‘should’ be doing something. If you start associating food with guilt, or ‘dieting’ with self-denial, it will never be sustainable, and you’ll make yourself unhappy in the long run. Nothing is worth that.

    Also, remember that ‘exercise’ doesn’t just have to happen at the gym – if you’re not feeling up to a full-on workout, go for a walk somewhere pretty, or have a (possibly wine-fueled) dance party in your bedroom. If exercising starts to feel like punishment, you’re not going to want to do it. Even though you might be able to tough it out regardless, that’s a lot of time and energy to devote to misery. If you’re sick, you’re sick, and digging yourself into a deeper hole isn’t going to make you healthier in the short or long term – give yourself permission to take the night off without feeling bad about it. Go hard when you feel good, but listening to your body is the most important thing. Remember that you’re doing this to feel better, not worse!

    Also, remember that you are the best. ❤

    • I think a big part of it for me is that, unless I’m actually at the gym or doing an exercise video, it doesn’t feel like I worked out. Case in point: I did a dance routine on Friday and I had to add some weights and ab work at the end because I didn’t feel like I’d done anything, haha. And I felt totally awesome afterwards, which was the BEST bonus.

      Thank you so much for your support with this and with everything. You are aces.

Leave a Reply

